Sustainability Targets 2023

Metall Zug has set the following sustainability targets to be achieved by 2023:

Employees:

Vision “Develop a skilled workforce”: Investments in continuing professional development and the training of apprentices remain stable or increase. 40 % of leadership positions are to be filled by internal candidates, with due regard for gender equality.

Vision “Satisfied employees”: Employee satisfaction can be improved.

Vision “Zero work-related accidents”: Reduce the number of cases and compensated days for work-related accidents to at least 20 % below the SUVA (Swiss National Accident Insurance Trust) average.

Vision “Safe leisure time”: Reduce the number of cases and compensated days for non-work-related accidents to 10% below the actual average.

Climate & Energy:

Metall Zug’s production sites in Switzerland are carbon-neutral in Scope 1 (heating and operating power, own vehicles) and Scope 2 (electricity) and Scope 3 (business air travel) in the 2019 – 2023 period. Carbon neutrality is achieved using the ‘cascade’ approach: 1. Avoid, 2. Reduce, 3. Compensate, 4. Remove.

Products & Services:

A complete life cycle analysis is conducted for a selected product (top seller). The life cycle analysis encompasses raw material extraction and processing, production, transport, use and disposal. The findings serve as input for product development and help bring about improvements in relation to useful life, reuse and recycling.

90 % of own packaging material produced from renewable materials (wood, cardboard, biogenic material) is used.

Supplier management incorporates material aspects of the sustainability strategy. The major logistics contractors must submit an annual CO2 report.

Nachhaltigkeitsziele 2023

Metall Zug hat die Nachhaltigkeitsziele, welche bis 2023 erreicht werden sollen, wie folgt festgelegt:

Mitarbeitende:

Vision «Fachkräfte entwickeln»: Die Investitionen in Weiterbildungen und in die Ausbildung von Lernenden bleiben stabil oder werden gesteigert. Bei Führungspositionen werden 40% interne Nachbesetzungen angestrebt. Dabei wird auf Gleichstellung geachtet.

Vision «Zufriedenere Mitarbeitende»: Die Mitarbeiter-Zufriedenheit kann verbessert werden.

Vision «Null Betriebsunfälle»: Fälle und entschädigte Tage für Berufsunfälle mindestens 20% unter den SUVA- (Schweizerische Unfallversicherung)-Durchschnitt senken.

Vision «Sichere Freizeit»: Fälle und entschädigte Tage für Nichtberufsunfälle um 10% gegenüber dem Ist-Durchschnitt senken.


Klima & Energie:

Metall Zug ist mit den produzierenden Standorten in der Schweiz im Scope 1 (Heiz- und Betriebsenergie, eigene Fahrzeuge) und Scope 2 (Strom) und Scope 3 (Geschäftsflüge) im Zeitraum 2019–2023 CO2-neutral. Die CO2-Neutralität wird nach dem Kaskadierungsprinzip erreicht: 1. Vermeiden, 2. Reduzieren, 3. Kompensieren, 4. Entfernen.


Produkte & Services:

Es wird eine vollständige Life-Cycle-Analyse für ein ausgewähltes Produkt (Topseller) durchgeführt. Die Life-Cycle-Analyse umfasst Rohstoffgewinnung, Herstellung, Transport, Nutzungsphase und Entsorgung. Die Erkenntnisse fliessen in die Produktentwicklung ein und tragen zu Verbesserungen hinsichtlich Lebensdauer, Wiederverwertung und Recycling bei.

Es wird zu 90% eigenes Verpackungsmaterial aus erneuerbaren Materialien (Holz, Karton, biogenes Material) verwendet. – Das Lieferantenmanagement beinhaltet wesentliche Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie. Die grössten Logistik-Auftragnehmer müssen ein jährliches CO2-Reporting abgeben.